Third Metric: What To Know In Your 20s To Succeed On Your Own Terms

My favorite pieces of advice from Third Metric: What To Know In Your 20s To Succeed On Your Own Terms:

Cali Yost, CEO and Founder of Flex+Strategy Group & Work+Life Fit Inc.
“Trust your vision. In this picture, it is 1995 and I am graduating from Columbia Business School. For two years, I’d walked the halls of the school stating confidently, ‘I am going to be a work-life flexibility consultant.’ This was before the Internet or email. People literally thought I was nuts (and a few brave souls even said it out loud!). But I had spent the two years prior to business school working as a line manager in a commercial bank. I witnessed firsthand the rigid, Industrial Age boundaries that defined work, life and career beginning to break down. I wanted to create new more flexible models for personal and business success. I didn’t know what that looked like exactly, but I was willing to begin anywhere. Some of my classmates started jobs with six-figure salaries. I took a three-month internship at Families and Work Institute planning a conference for $3,000. No guarantee of a permanent job, but it was the first step on a career journey that, 18 years later, has far exceeded anything I could have imagined on the day I accepted that diploma.”
Tanya Wexler, Film Director
“My best advice comes from a quote by President Calvin Coolidge, about whom I know very little: ‘Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men [and women!] with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan “Press On” has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.'”
Dean Ornish, M.D., President and Founder, Preventive Medicine Research Institute
“As a doctor, when I work with people who are dying, they usually regret what they didn’t do, not what they did. Because even if they did something that turned out to be a mistake, they learned from it — and great wisdom comes from making mistakes. But if you don’t even try, you gain nothing and you learn nothing. A messy life is a good life.”
Jody Greenstone Miller, Founder and CEO, Business Talent Group
“My one piece of life advice for young women is to be brutally honest with yourself about what you want and why. Keep your ‘blinders’ on and try not to be pulled in a particular direction because it’s what you think your parents want for you or what you think you ‘should’ do or what all your friends are doing. Try to uncover what you really want to do with your one life on this earth.”
Sally Osberg, President and CEO, The Skoll Foundation
“Learn to nourish what nourishes you, and to lead from your strength. Take care not to confuse status with growth. Cherish life and love.”
Gayle Ober, Executive Director, The George Family Foundation
“You don’t need to have it all figured out when you’re 25 years old, or even when you’re 30 or 40. I had no idea back in 1985 that I would one day be the executive director of one of Minnesota’s largest private foundations or that I would have been the arts director for the City of Saint Paul. Being open to opportunities along the way can result in a very fulfilling personal and professional life. Making room in your life for family, deep friendships and time for personal growth and renewal are important aspects of a life well lived.”
Leave a Reply

