2011 Blogging Resolution

Last November, I decided to do something I’ve dreamed up in my head for a long time. I knew some day I wanted to create a blog, I just needed to narrow down the content and create a niche. So on Nov. 17th, 2010, that’s what I did.

Even now, I think some things I blog about are quite random, but I believe the most important thing about blogging is if it helps the reader in any way. In Andy Corner‘s ADV 225 PR writing class, he taught the fundamentals of AP style. He told our class to remember W.I.I.F.M. in everything you write. WIIFM stands for What’s In It For Me? When I post, I always recall Corner’s advice and try to focus my writing on answering the WIIFM question.

WIIFM?Many of you are probably in the same position. You created a blog and post relative content, but you don’t do it nearly enough. Congratulations. The blogging world is intimidating and I salute you for making it this far. But it’s 2011 and time for improvements. I urge and challenge you to set a weekly posting schedule. During the week, brainstorm content and write it down. Sometimes the best inspirations come right before bedtime when your mind races with ideas. Keep a pen and notepad next to your bed for jotting these ideas down. Create draft posts for each idea and build upon them throughout the week. These steps help eliminate the blank screen stare. I hope we both can increase our posting and ignore the seasoned blogger intimidation. Read this WordPress post, Challenge for 2011: Want to blog more often?, and bookmark The Daily Post WordPress blog, which posts daily with content inspiration.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

